Illinois Marching Online
Sign in to follow this  
He has to eat it!

Parades

From my limited experience, most people are in marching band because they like marching a field show. Some competitions include parades in the scoring. Do you personally like parades (or the concept of them)and do they always have an accurate reflection of the band on the field?

As a spectator, I love parades. As an instructor, I tolerated them. I saw them as PR, meaning both Public Relations and PRactice. We always tried to have a little fun in the routine or during the cadences, and to break things up as much as possible.

When a large band marches on a field and does a fantastic show, to the untrained eye, its good, but to a trained eye its amazing. A good parade though can impress everyone. Example: my freshman year i still knew nothing about field shows other than i was in one. I would watch shows at ISU and enjoy them but not appriciete them. But seeing a huge parade band like Galesburg and my jaw dropped. So many people, the sound was so loud and so nice, i loved it. So yes, i think parade has a good value to get people hyped up. The only cooralation i see between field and parade is if a band has good feet in parade, they likely will have good feet in field.

As a marcher i enjoyed parades. Not as much as field shows, but i did like them. There isnt the same sense as when you come off the field vs a parade, but marching down the street is fun. I will say my absolue favorite parade to do is Washington. the last stretch of road is the best, where the judges hayrack is. There are so many people, and the cheering is so loud, it makes marching through all them playing the best you can play even sweeter. Other parades there might be a few, but at Washington, the judges area is flogged with people cheering their heart out for you. I can't wait to be one of those cheerers this year as i chear on a few of my favorite bands as they march past.

Parades are fine.